top of page
Search

Overwhelmed

So many ideas, so many things to think about and create. So little time to accomplish what I want to do. So many other things that get in the way. Life gets in the way. Other concerns weigh down my enthusiasm. Especially in our world right now. The last few years have been very difficult. First Covid, something that I had absolutely no control over at all. I lost very dear friends from this very real pandemic. And now Ukraine and Putin. In 2001 we had our first exchange student from Germany. He was a joy and a very important part of our family. His whole family feels like an extension of our family and we love them all. His sister in law is from Ukraine. Currently her mother and nephew are there and unable to get out of their country. My reasons for feeling overwhelmed become very small when I think about her family, the worry and fear they are experiencing. Her sister and brother in law live in Poland. The whole family is separated from each other in Germany, Poland and Ukraine. I can only imagine how helpless and out of control they feel. So many situations happen in life where we really are out of control. It fills us with unease and at times even dread. My prayers have been lifted for the people of Ukraine over the last several days. Now my prayers have names to lift- people who are dear to our past exchange student.


One of my favorite Bible passages comes from Psalm 27. Starting in vs. 2 it says "When the wicked advance against me to devour me, it is my enemies and my foes who will stumble and fall. Though an army besiege me, my heart will not fear: though war break out against me, even then I will be confident."


My frustrations with feeling overwhelmed by being short of time seem petty when thinking about what is going on in our world today. My husband shared with me a prayer about time written by Michael Quoist. Born in 1918, he was a French Catholic priest. In this prayer he states clearly the frustration we feel with time. At the end of the prayer he says, " I am not asking you tonight Lord, for time to do this and then that. But your grace to do conscientiously, in the time that you give me, what you want me to do." God indeed is the giver of time. I can rest in the thought of his great love and care for us.


Thank you for visiting my blog today. I know that you will keep the people in Ukraine in your prayers.


I invite you to subscribe to my blog. Also any comments would be greatly valued.



kdscraftin.com



35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page